Grabbing image from multiple cameras .net

Hi,
I am working with 4 genie nano cameras and I need to pull all the images together to process them as 1. I have used for this code BackgroundWorker to grab all the images using Device.Stream.Wait() on each device. Each device is being triggered from PLC
Is there a better way to do that?
I didn’t find any examples and using the GettingStarted async await code caused big delay when displaying all 4 images in WPF application (when running continuously and even with trigger).
I am not very experienced with concurrency.
Thanks!

Hi @piotrM,

can you tell a bit more about your application? Are the 4 cameras triggered synchronously or in a short time span? Can you ensure that you have no transfer errors (see statistics in the getting started). Transfer errors and corrupt frames can look like long delays or “stuttering” displays.

Other than that I would advice agains background workers in this scenario. If you use .Wait or .WaitAsync you have the parallelism issues covered. Acquisition happens in parallel to your code anyways in :cvb:. This is what the ring buffer is for.

So I would start all camera streams and then wait for them in one go to do the processing (assuming we have a Stream collection:

var imageTasks = streams.Select(stream => stream.WaitAsync());

await Task.WhenAll(imageTasks);

var images = imageTasks.Select(task => task.Result)
                       .ToArray();

// do your processing

Although I would recommend to use .WaitFor/.WaitForAsync in production environments.

This code uses cooperative multitasking to wait for all the images. If you do processing you should also do it outside the UI thread via await Task.Run(...);.

I hope that helps. If not I need more details about your current app.

1 Like

Hi @parsd
I very much appreciate your answer.